from the editor's desk

Patricia Hackett

The 2017 Patricia Hackett Prize

Every year, Westerly awards the Patricia Hackett Prize to the strongest work published within the volumes of that year. The prize is announced in the first issue of the following year.

Westerly is very excited to announce the winner of the 2017 Patricia Hackett Prize: Caitlin Maling for her creative non-fiction essay,
‘Travelling Through the Dark: Six Weeks in Oregon’ published in Westerly 62.1.

Caitlin joins a wonderful list of past recipients, including Kim Scott, David Whish-Wilson, Judy Johnson, Marcella Polain and many others. ‘Travelling Through the Dark: Six Weeks in Oregon’ is a beautifully crafted essay on distance, community and collaboration. You can read it online here or order a copy of Westerly 62.1.

The Patricia Hackett Prize is awarded annually since 1965 from a bequest left for this purpose. It remembers the contributions Patricia Hackett made to both theatre and poetry, and her family’s connection with the University of Western Australia. A feature written in remembrance of Miss Hackett was published in Westerly 10.1 in 1965. It is now available as a free download from our digital archive here.

Congratulations Caitlin! Westerly thanks you for your beautiful essay.

share this

Join our mailing list